Exclusive Features : Meet The Founder Behind Abayaholic

 

Exclusive Feature - with Abayaholic Images

When I first met Mumtahana Elahi, it was back in August 2012 when I first added her on Facebook. She had a unique sense of style that was different from her age. A mixture of classic and a dash of charisma that was striking with a touch of elegance with her unique twist on Hijab styles.

IMG_4651_2

As I followed her along the years, I began to noticed her sense of fashion evolving and it showed in her Photo shoots too. You will never believe that this Young Fashionista is still in her early 20’s, still in Uni, a fashion blogger and already Country Editor for a Fashion Magazine called Gaya Magazine and also a content writer at Islamic Fashion and Design Council. Plus she designs her own outfits too. She is an inspiration to many female youth out there you   are not too young to chase your dreams.                     Photo Credit : Abayaholic

We have the opportunity to interview this young talent and here are some of the questions:

1. Can you tell our readers about yourself and your blog?

Hello, I am Mumtahana Elahi, I’m a student of Fashion Designing in my early 20’s. I am from Dhaka, Bangladesh and I’ve lived here all my life. I am a fashion enthusiast and my love for modest fashion has brought me here. I have always been passionate about fashion designing and I started off by always designing the outfits that I wear. My blog, Abayaholic, is a display of the styles that I create solely by myself.  Abayaholic was a self-created muse solely dedicated towards modest fashion inspirations.

2. Describe how did you first get into blogging?

I started my blog officially in March, 2016. To be honest, before this, I have been a bit laid back. But thanks to a bunch of good people who has always pushed and motivated me to start it.

When I used to post pictures of my outfits on the social media back in 2015, I used to receive a lot of question people asking me about my outfit details. Then I finally decided to show them how I do it. Gradually, I started posting more frequently about my styles and other things so everyone can view. It was fun and realized that I could turn my blog into a place where I would share my own style and designs and so Abayaholic was born !

3. What inspired you to start your blog?

I felt the necessity to enlighten a lot of girls with the idea that you don’t have to compromise styles standing on your ground of faith. Faith and fashion can go hand in hand. I used to read a lot of blogs and saw how the internet brought people together… there were people all over the world who loved modest clothing as much as I do, and blogging gave them the opportunity to talk about style. I needed an outlet like that, so I started my own blog! 

4. What ignited your spark towards Fashion?

Well, I have always seeked for creating new things when it comes to my own style. Growing up, I have always seen my mother making clothes of her designs on her own. To be honest, nothing ever drove my spirit more than working with cloths/ fabrics. Also having supportive parents to guide me towards my passion has probably ignited the spark in me more than anything!

5. How would you describe your blogging style?

I believe in contemporary and timeless styles. It’s really what I’m drawn to. I can embrace some trends but that’s not all I go by. I really like to mix it up and experiment. It’s important to have a bit of a play in all sorts of areas.

6. How would you define your Fashion Style?

I don’t think that I have a particular style since I wear what I like and that changes from time to time, keeping the contemporary thing in mind. I have a thing for loud colours and bold prints. I don’t mind muted shades and monochromes.  You can say that my style is a mixture of multicolored and timeless trends. If I could choose a style to adopt for the rest of my life that would definitely be the 60’s style, where I could play the Hijabi Audrey Hepburn role. hehe

IMG_4702

Photo Credit : Abayaholic

7. With work / studies and running an Editorial Magazine, how do you manage your time and running your blog efficiently?

Well, when it comes to creating a blog post or shooting an outfit I’m wearing, I maintain a scheduled routine. I am mostly caught up with university works to be honest. In between, whenever I get time, I work on the write-ups. When it comes to photo shoots, I do it on the go, so that I can save a little bit of time and use it in other activities.

8. What do you think is the best strategy that worked well for you to getting more traffic to your blog?

I feed on excellence and quality of work. To me, the best strategy was to create engaging contents that would pursue the readers to view my blog. That includes outfit picks and photo compositions. Focusing on the quality more than the quantity should be the goal. Hence I tried and will be trying to make myself better with every coming day.

9. Where would you like to be blogging five years from now?

That’s a tough question though. I haven’t really thought about where I see myself in 5 years. If Allah wills, I plan on to create my own signature clothing line and create a strong blogging platform along with being a fashion designer. A Global recognition wouldn’t be bad as I love knowing people from different cultures. It would be an honor to represent modest fashion and my country on global stage. Oh and I forgot to mention, travelling countries too. :D

10. What was the most challenging moment in your blogging journey so far?

For a lazy person like me, every blogging moment it challenging haha!
Well, most of my outfits on the blog are designed by myself. So, before everything, picking the right cloth, designing it, sewing it and finally giving it the desired look is more of a challenge to me. Let’s not forget the styling and photography. What I’ve learned since I started my journey as a fashion blogger is, it’s not easy to come up with new ideas every time. It takes a lot of time, effort and dedication. To me, every moment is challenging and the passion makes it easier.

11. Can you name some of your favorite bloggers and explain why they your favorite?

There are many ! I used to follow Dina- Tokio and Yaz the Spaz and Nabila Bee from their beginning years. They are legends in modest fashion ❤
Among other international bloggers, my favorites are

  • “The Chic Muse” by Denni Elias, I love her photo compositions.
  • “The Chriselle Factor” by Chriselle Lim, absolutely love how she took her fashion blog to the next level.

Micah Gianelli, for how she turns simple attires into runway perfect outfits!

IMG_4525-3nhhj

Photo Credit : Abayaholic

Everyone starts small. And ‘Age’ is not a barrier. If you have the passion and the determination. You can places and move mountains.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Miss Mumtahana Elahi on this opportunity for us to get to know more of each other. And definitely will be hearing more from her soon.

If you have a story to share, contact us via email at sarah.21stcentury@outlook.com

4 thoughts on “Exclusive Features : Meet The Founder Behind Abayaholic

Leave a Reply

